Nature spotlights UW geophysicists’ fight to save lives with seafloor sensors

Inventor Jerry Paros

Inventor and entrepreneur Jerry Paros and University of Washington scientists are monitoring undersea faults for movements and signs of the next catastrophic earthquake. A recent Nature article looks at Paros, who has donated $2 million to the UW, and the collaborative project he’s working on with researchers including the School of Oceanography’s Emily Roland and William Wilcock. Over the course of his career, Paros developed an ultra-precise quartz sensor for oil, gas and other industry applications. 

Read more at Nature »

Archaea, La Nina and more

Every other week we share the latest peer-reviewed publications coming from the College of the Environment. Over the past two weeks, twelve new articles co-authored by members of the College were added to the Web of Science database. They include articles about climate sensitivity, biodiversity, and more. This will be the last Weekly Research of the year-- see you in the fall!

Read more »

2017 Hall Conservation Genetics Research Award winners announced

DNA (photo: Pixabay)

UW Environment is pleased to announce that Yaamini Venkataraman and Laura Spencer, both Ph.D. students in the School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences, are recipients of the 2017 Hall Conservation Genetics Research Award. The fund is made possible by a generous gift from the Benjamin and Margaret Hall Charitable Lead Trust. Yaamini Venkataraman Yaamini’s work broadly focuses on the effects of environmental stressors, including ocean acidification and warming, on shellfish. 

More about the Hall Conservation Genetics Research Award »

Environmental Studies' Kristi Straus receives 2017 Distinguished Teaching Award

Congratulations to UW Environment’s Kristi Straus! The lecturer at UW’s Program on the Environment was recently selected to receive the 2017 Distinguished Teaching Award. She will be honored at UW’s Awards of Excellence ceremony on June 8, 2017 at 3:30 p.m. at Meany Hall. Distinguished Teaching Award recipients are chosen based on a variety of criteria, including mastery of the subject matter, enthusiasm and innovation in teaching and learning process, ability to engage students both within and outside the classroom, ability to inspire independent and original thinking in students and to stimulate students to do creative work, and innovations in course and curriculum design. 

Read more in Columns »