213 news posts related to College of the Environment

Return to News

Active learning during the COVID-19 pandemic

Students participate in a socially-distanced in-person lab.

After news that summer, fall and eventually winter quarters are mostly to be conducted virtually, many instructors within the College of the Environment found themselves forced to write new lesson plans, while also becoming proficient with an array of new technology quickly. Not only did they have to teach, but in many cases they also had to be a tech wizard to facilitate remote lab work and deliver engaging lectures over a computer screen.  

Read more »

UW announces Maggie Walker Deanship in the College of the Environment

Maggie Walker

The University of Washington today announced a major gift that elevates the importance of climate change and secures the legacy of Seattle philanthropist Maggie Walker by creating a namesake deanship for the College of the Environment. Honoring her life of service and commitment to the UW, in addition to an initial 10-year pledge of more than $400,000 annually, the Maggie Walker Deanship will provide a stable source of discretionary funding for the incoming dean and attract world-class talent to the fill the position. 

Read more at UW News »

Seven UW Environment researchers featured on Highly Cited Researchers 2020 List

University of Washington's Suzzallo Library

Seven faculty and researchers from the College of the Environment have been included in the annual Highly Cited Researchers 2020 list from Clarivate. The highly-anticipated annual list identifies researchers who demonstrated significant influence in their chosen field or fields through the publication of multiple highly cited papers during the last decade. Their names are drawn from the publications that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and publication year in the Web of Science citation index. 

Read more at UW News »

Kyle Armour recipient of AGU James B. Macelwane Medal

Kyle Armour

Congratulations to Associate Professor Kyle Armour, who was selected as a recipient of the 2020 James B. Macelwane Medal from the American Geophysical Union (AGU) for his outstanding scientific contributions. The Macelwane Medal is given annually to three to five early career scientists in recognition of their significant contributions to Earth and space science. Nominees are selected for the medal based on their depth and breadth of research, impact, creativity as well as service, outreach, and diversity. 

Read more »

Lisa Graumlich, dean of UW College of the Environment, named president-elect of AGU

Lisa Graumlich

The American Geophysical Union announced that its members have elected Lisa Graumlich, dean of the UW College of the Environment, as the president-elect starting Jan. 1. After two years in this role Graumlich will begin a two-year term as president of the AGU board beginning in 2023. With more than 62,000 members from 144 countries, AGU represents an interdisciplinary mix of atmospheric, ocean, Earth, hydrology and space scientists. 

Read more at UW News »