51 posts of type: Awards and Acknowledgements

Return to News

Nominations for 2023 College of the Environment Awards open through March 10

A view of the large metal W on the Seattle Campus with the sun peeking out behind.

Do you know a student, faculty, postdoc, or staff member who deserves recognition for their work? The College of the Environment Awards recognize individuals and teams who have gone above and beyond their own roles and have made significant contributions not only to our college, but to the University of Washington overall and the communities we serve. Each year the College of the Environment recognizes outstanding members of our College community in the following categories: Distinguished Staff Member Exceptional Mentoring of Undergraduates Graduate Dean’s Medalist Outstanding Community Impact: Staff, Faculty or Student Outstanding Diversity Commitment Outstanding Teaching Faculty Undergraduate Dean’s Medalist Individuals or groups may be nominated in any of these categories except Undergraduate and Graduate Dean’s Medalist awards, which are individual awards. 

Read more »

College of the Environment researcher John Marzluff named 2022 AAAS Fellow

John Marzluff

Four University of Washington researchers have been named AAAS Fellows, according to a Jan. 31 announcement by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. They are among 506 new fellows from around the world, who are recognized for their “scientifically and socially distinguished achievements” in science and engineering. John Marzluff, a professor of wildlife science in the UW School of Environmental and Forest Sciences, is honored for advances in our understanding of how humans impact birds, and for communicating the importance of birds to the public. 

Read more at UW News »

Two College of the Environment faculty recognized by American Geophysical Union

University of Washington

University of Washington School of Oceanography Professor Ginger Armbrust and Department of Atmospheric Sciences Professor Dennis Hartmann will be honored at the 2022 American Geophysical Union Fall Meeting in December. Armbrust has been named a 2022 AGU Fellow in recognition of her outstanding contributions to ocean sciences and for embodying AGU’s values by fostering equity, integrity, diversity and open science; by mentoring; through public engagement; and in her communications. 

Read more at UW News »

UW College of the Environment sophomore Jonathan Kwong awarded selective Udall Scholarship

Jonathan Kwong

University of Washington sophomore Jonathan Kwong was recently named a Udall Scholar, a selective honor awarded to 55 college sophomores and juniors for leadership, public service and commitment to issues related to American Indian nations or to the environment. More than 380 candidates from across the country applied for this selective scholarship, with award recipients receiving up to $7,000 each. The Udall Scholarship honors the legacies of Morris Udall and Stewart Udall, whose careers held significant impact on American Indian self-governance and stewardship of lands and resources. 

Read more »

College faculty, staff and students honored at the 2022 Awards of Excellence

Mikelle Nuwer, Kristin Privitera-Johnson, Burlyn Birkemeier and Joanna Long

Each year, the University of Washington’s Awards of Excellence highlight alumni, faculty, staff, retirees and students who contribute to the richness and diversity of the University community. This year, the University has recognized the outstanding contributions of four members of the College of the Environment: Mikelle Nuwer, Kristin Privitera-Johnson, Burlyn Birkemeier and Joanna Long. The winners will be honored from 3:30 to 5:30 p.m. 

Read more »