David Catling, Jody Deming, Eric Steig, Becky Alexander, Brendan Crowell, Baptiste Journaux, and Nicholas Ward
Pictured clockwise from top left: David Catling, Eric Steig, Jody Deming, Nicholas Ward, Baptiste Journaux, Brendan Crowell and Becky Alexander

The American Geophysical Union announced Sept. 13 that five University of Washington faculty members, including several from the College of the Environment, have been elected as new fellows, representing the departments of astronomy, Earth and space sciences, oceanography, global health and environmental and occupational health sciences.

The Fellows program recognizes AGU members who have made exceptional contributions to Earth and space sciences through a breakthrough, discovery or innovation in their field. The five UW honorees are among 54 people from around the world in the 2023 Class of Fellows. AGU, the world’s largest Earth and space sciences association, annually recognizes a select number of individuals nominated by their peers for its highest honors. Since 1962, the AGU Union Fellows Committee has selected less than 0.1% of members as new fellows.

Here are the College of the Environment’s new AGU Fellows:

  • David Catling, professor of Earth and space sciences
  • Jody Deming, who holds the Karl M. Banse Endowed Professorship in oceanography
  • Eric Steig, professor and chair of Earth and space sciences

Also honored by AGU this year are four College of the Environment faculty members and researchers who have received other awards:

Read more at UW News »