College of the Environment Dean Lisa J. Graumlich
Professor Lisa J. Graumlich

Two scientists at the College of the Environment are among the 38 new members elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences for 2021, according to a July 15 announcement. New members were chosen for “their outstanding record of scientific and technical achievement, and their willingness to work on behalf of the Academy to bring the best available science to bear on issues within the state of Washington.”

Current academy members selected 29 of the new members. An additional nine were elected by virtue of joining one of the National Academies.

Dan Jaffe
Professor Dan Jaffe

Lisa Graumlich, professor in the School of Environmental and Forest Sciences and dean emeritus of the College of the Environment was elected “for foundational studies of regional paleoenvironmental history and sustained excellence in academic leadership to catalyze and sustain transformative research and educational initiatives.” Graumlich is also president-elect of the American Geophysical Union.

Daniel Jaffe, professor of atmospheric sciences, was elected “for leadership in monitoring and understanding the global transport of atmospheric pollutants from energy production, wildfire, and other sources, as well as science communication and service that has informed citizens and enhanced public policy.”

Read more at UW News »