The American Geophysical Union announced that its members have elected Lisa Graumlich, dean of the UW College of the Environment, as the president-elect starting Jan. 1. After two years in this role Graumlich will begin a two-year term as president of the AGU board beginning in 2023.

With more than 62,000 members from 144 countries, AGU represents an interdisciplinary mix of atmospheric, ocean, Earth, hydrology and space scientists. Results of the biannual election were announced on Nov. 12.

“At AGU we had the most diverse slate of candidates ever step forward and offer to serve,” wrote current President Robin Bell in her post-election message to the AGU board. “I’m so proud that we elected Lisa Graumlich, a paleoclimatologist and the first openly LGBTQ+ president-elect of AGU. Lisa, together with the rest of the newly elected board, council, College of Fellows and section leaders, will comprise the most diverse AGU leadership when Susan Lozier takes over as the new president in 2021. We have a chance to continue to lead, and the opportunities for our science and our scientific community are now much more hopeful.”

In 2010 Graumlich was named the inaugural dean of the UW College of the Environment, joining the UW faculty from the University of Arizona. She has announced she plans to step down as dean at the end of the 2020-21 academic year. Graumlich also holds the Mary Laird Wood endowed professorship in the UW School of Environmental and Forest Sciences.

“I am honored and, frankly, thrilled to be AGU’s next president-elect,” Graumlich said. “My decade as dean of the College of the Environment was, I believe, the very best preparation for taking the helm of AGU. I will always be grateful to my UW colleagues for giving me a front-row seat to what excellence and innovation in Earth and space sciences looks like. Those lessons are immeasurably beneficial and will accompany me as I move forward to be, I hope, a strong and affectual leader on the board.”

Other newly announced elected positions include Charles Nittrouer, UW professor emeritus of oceanography, who is president-elect of the Ocean Sciences division. Graumlich’s predecessor, who will become president Jan. 1, is Georgia Institute of Technology’s Susan Lozier, who earned her doctorate in physical oceanography at the UW.

Read more at UW News »