Katherine Turner/University of Washington
Congratulations to all 12 UW faculty elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences!

Three scientists from the University of Washington College of the Environment have been elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences. According to a statement released by the organization, the new members were selected for “their outstanding record of scientific achievement and willingness to work on behalf of the academy in bringing the best available science to bear on issues within the state of Washington.”

Dennis Hartmann, professor of atmospheric sciences, was elected through his recent admission to the National Academy of Sciences, while the School of Oceanography‘s John Delaney and the School of Environmental and Forest SciencesJerry Franklin were elected by current members of the Washington State Academy of Sciences.

In all, UW faculty make up half of the 24 new members, who will be formally inducted in September during an annual meeting at the Museum of Flight in Seattle.

Incorporated by legislation in 2007, the Washington State Academy of Sciences initially had just 105 members. With this new crop of members from UW and other institutions around the state, the academy’s total membership will rise to 264. The academy’s mission is “to provide expert scientific and engineering analysis to inform public policymaking in Washington, and to increase the role and visibility of science in the state.”

Read more at UW Today »