Professor John Delaney, of the School of Oceanography, is the recipient of the 2012 Athelstan Spilhaus Award, given by the American Geophysical Union.  The Athelstan Spilhaus Award is awarded not more than once annually to an individual AGU member for devoting portions of their career to conveying to the general public the excitement, significance, and beauty of the Earth and space sciences. Read more about the award here. Congratulations, John!